Marsala Is My New Power Color

DSCN0909

(Marsala In Bloom Jams aka Jess’s Job-Getting Nails)

It took me a long time to accept that networking is the most effective way to get a job.  For starters, I don’t like to ask for help.  Isn’t that like admitting you can’t do something on your own?  On top of that, shouldn’t jobs go to the most qualified applicant (which must obviously be someone who submitted their resume in response to a posted job listing)?  I’m sure all of the professional career counselors and HR people just did a collective face palm.

As it turns out, there are all sorts of statistics to support the idea that a huge percentage of jobs get filled before there’s ever a job posting.  Someone who works at the company refers a perfectly qualified candidate and that person gets hired before strangers to the company are even invited to apply.  The past 6 months of so of my life have basically been a non-scientific test of this theory (or quasi-scientific, since I can use the preceding 12 month period of ineffectually responding to want ads as my control).  Scientific or not, I am a convert.  On Friday, I was offered a job that I only knew about because I happened to send a Christmas card to a contact I met by sending out informational interview requests.  This week, I got some additional interview offers through different networking contacts.  Again, none of the jobs were posted on any job board.

On a related note, I’ve also non-scientifically disproved the idea that most lawyers are jerks. During my job search, I’ve met with alums from my law school, friends-of-friends and various other people who knew next to nothing about me when I called for help.  All generously agreed to give me their time and many have done much more than that.  If I get nothing from my time off but my renewed sense of faith in the goodness of most people, that will be enough.  (The extra sleep has been nice too).

Okay, enough sappy stuff.  Let’s talk about these nails.  They’re called Marsala in Bloom. Marsala is the Pantone color of the year, so these are super-trendy y’all.  Not only that, but Marsala is a fairly neutral color, making this a perfect “conservative, but not too stuffy” look. I think these would be a great choice for a job interview, but, of course, I have only my own non-scientific experience to back that up.

Leave a Reply

